Peach mess saved

Nothing will work unless you do – maya Angelou.

And in the case of the fibre, it won’t work if you work against it.

The fibre I couldn’t match!! Was it Romney? Was it Cheviot? Who knows, but it had about a six inch staple and six crimps per inch.

Why is this important? I was going to try a yarn that had some technical planning to see what I came up with.

20141115-172137.jpg

Flicked the ends to open the lock. If I couldn’t deal with the colours as a mass, maybe they’d soften up when they were blended.

20141115-172147.jpg

Hand carded and rolled into punis. Spinning from the punis would help to maintain some natural bounce and make a more consistent yarn.

20141115-172155.jpg

The locks has a nice luster to them, so I chose to use a short forward draft to keep the fibers more compact and retain some of the shine. Using my initial measurements of the crimp, I actually looked into the spinning ratios of my wheel… I chose the 1:6 ratio to spin a fine single. I even tried doing 1/2 the length of the staple to one revolution of the wheel. This was surprisingly much less complicated that I thought it would be and really and truly was far more rhythmic than my normal spinning! The result – the single had too little twist, so I deceased the ratio to 1:5, I wanted it tight enough too so it would ply back nicely the next go around. What happened? It was beautifully balanced off the niddy noddy and surprise surprise… It’s colour to match with will be white.

20141115-172203.jpg

So… I give into some of this planning. I love it in the end.

This info was all adapted from Beth Smith’s book: The Spinner’s Book of Fleece

Leave a Reply

